If I wanted to start learning a bit about Okito coin box work...

Publicly viewable forum created so Chris can bloviate in a more visible way. Available for guest commenting on a moderated basis.
Chris Aguilar
Forums Admin

If I wanted to start learning a bit about Okito coin box work...

Post by Chris Aguilar » 2 weeks ago

... is the big Roth book too advanced for total beginner in such things?

I've been reading through it, working along a bit with a buddha box and the moves don't seem crazy hard, but I get the nagging feeling I should be looking somewhere more basic first.
"On the Internet, nobody knows if you're a dog... but everybody knows if you're a jackass."

Jeff Haas

Post by Jeff Haas » 2 weeks ago

Chris, there aren't many books on coin work. You might want to get a copy of J.B. Bobo's "Modern Coin Magic." It came out in paperback from Dover a few years back, so used copies are super cheap. Otherwise, the references for Okito coin box routines are pretty scattered...

https://www.conjuringarchive.com/list/s ... =okito+box

So you basically go from the moves in Bobo to the ones in Roth's big book. The other stuff is mostly variations.

Also, there's a guy out there who sells plastic, 3D printed Okito boxes, which can be dressed up with a sticker to look like you got them at the drug store:

http://funtasticmagic.com/products/2-coin-boxes
Conjure Nation...home of banter, hissy fits, bourbon-fueled philosophy and crazy talk!

"...this is back...way, way back...back when the Mystery School still seemed like a good idea..." - Harry Anderson

"Get over it, you homophobic motherfuckers." - Kent Gunn

Social media is a hostile, crap-filled, dumpster-fire of shit.

Chris Aguilar
Forums Admin

Post by Chris Aguilar » 2 weeks ago

Thanks Jeff. I think that's the way to go.